Austria's Konrad claims first stage win of Tour de France

Patrick Konrad

Patrick Konrad from Austria held off the chasing group to claim victory on stage 16 of the Tour de France.

He attacked out of a breakaway on the Col de Portet-d’Aspet, the penultimate climb of the 169km stage.

It is the 29-year-old’s first Tour stage and first professional win.

Tadej Pogacar retained the yellow jersey as the group of overall leaders crossed the line almost 14 minutes later with no significant changes at the top of the general classification.

It was another relatively stress-free day for the Slovenian as the race resumed following Monday’s rest day – with the damp conditions on the treacherous descent of the Portet-d’Aspet the main concern for the peloton.

Pogacar continues to lead by five minutes and 18 seconds from Rigoberto Uran going into Wednesday’s 178km stage to a summit finish on the Col du Portet.

Konrad resisted a counter-attack from France’s David Gaudu and Italy’s Sonny Colbrelli to deliver a second stage win of this year’s Tour for Bora-Hansgrohe.

Stage 15 Results

  1. Patrick Konrad (Aut/BORA-hansgrohe) 4hours 01minutes 59seconds
  2. Sonny Colbrelli (Ita/Bahrain Victorious) +42secs
  3. Michael Matthews (Aus/Team BikeExchange) Same time
  4. Pierre-Luc Perichon (Fra/Cofidis)
  5. Franck Bonnamour (Fra/B&B Hotels)
  6. Alex Aranburu (Esp/Astana)
  7. Toms Skujins (Lat/Trek) +45sec
  8. Jan Bakelants (Bel/Intermarche) Same time
  9. David Gaudu (Fra/Groupama) +47secs
  10. Lorenzo Rota (Ita/Intermarche) +1min 03secs

General classification after stage 16

  1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 66hours 23minutes 06seconds
  2. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education) +5mins 18secs
  3. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo) +5mins 32secs
  4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/INEOS) INEOS Grenadiers +5:33

4. Richard Carapaz (ECU) INEOS Grenadiers +5:33

5. Ben O’Connor (AUS) AG2R – Citroën Team +5:58

6. Wilco Kelderman (NED) BORA – hansgrohe +6:16

7. Alexey Lutsenko (KAZ) Astana – Premier Tech +7:01

8. Enric Mas (ESP) Movistar Team +7:11

9. Guillaume Martin (FRA) Cofidis +8:02

10. Pello Bilbao (ESP) Bahrain Victorious +10:59

11. David Gaudu (FRA) Groupama – FDJ +14:13

12. Mattia Cattaneo (ITA) Deceuninck – Quick-Step +14:45

King of the Mountains

1. Wout Poels (NED) Bahrain Victorious 74

2. Michael Woods (CAN) Israel Start-Up Nation 66

3. Nairo Quintana (COL) Team Arkéa – Samsic 64

4. Wout van Aert (BEL) Jumbo – Visma “

5. Bauke Mollema (NED) Trek – Segafredo 41

6. Kenny Elissonde (FRA) Trek – Segafredo 27

7. Tadej Pogacar (SLO) UAE Team Emirates 26

8. Ben O’Connor (AUS) AG2R – Citroën Team 24

9. Sergio Higuita (COL) EF Education – Nippo “

10. Julian Alaphilippe (FRA) Deceuninck – Quick-Step 20

11. Jonas Vingegaard (DEN) Jumbo – Visma “

12. Anthony Perez (FRA) Cofidis 19

13. Patrick Konrad (AUT) BORA – hansgrohe 18

14. Mattia Cattaneo (ITA) Deceuninck – Quick-Step “

15. Guillaume Martin (FRA) Cofidis 15

16. Sepp Kuss (USA) Jumbo – Visma 14

17. Rigoberto Urán (COL) EF Education – Nippo 12

18. Matej Mohoric (SLO) Bahrain Victorious 11

19. Alejandro Valverde (ESP) Movistar Team “

20. Dylan Teuns (BEL) Bahrain Victorious 10

Source Link:

Recommended For You