Cavendish equals Tour de France stage record

Mark Cavendish

Britain’s Mark Cavendish has made history in the Tour de France by equalling Belgian great Eddy Merckx’s record of 34 stage wins.

The Deceuninck-Quick Step rider won the sprint into Carcassonne by a few inches ahead of team-mate Michael Morkov.

Briton Simon Yates of Team Bike Exchange abandoned the race following a crash in which several riders fell down a ravine.

“It’s what I dreamed of as a kid. I’ve worked so hard for it,” said Cavendish.

Tadej Pogacar of UAE-Team Emirates remains in the leader’s yellow jersey.

Cavendish added: “I’m so dead – 220km in that heat, in that wind. I went so deep there – they boys were incredible. I can’t believe it.

“A lot of the day I didn’t feel like it would happen, I was so on the limit at the end.

“I haven’t realised it [was the record] – it’s another win on the Tour.”

More to follow

Stage 13 results

1. Mark Cavendish (GB/Deceunick-Quick-Step) 5hrs 04mins 29secs

2. Michael Morkov (Den/Deceunick-Quick-Step) Same time

3. Jasper Philipsen (Bel/Alpecin-Fenix)

4. Ivan Garcia (Sap/Movistar)

5. Danny van Poppel (Ned/Intermarche-Wanty-Gobert)

6. Alex Aranburu (Spa/Astana)

7. Christophe Laporte (Fra/Cofidis)

8. Andre Greipel (Ger/Israel Start-Up Nation)

9. Magnus Cort (Den/EF Education-Nippo)

10. Jasper Stuyen (Bel/Trek-Segafredo)

General classification after stage 13:

1. Tadej Pogacar (Slo/UAE Team Emirates) 52hrs 27mins 12secs

2. Rigoberto Uran (Col/EF Education Nippo) + 5mins 18secs

3. Jonas Vingegaard (Den/Jumbo Visma) +5mins 32secs

4. Richard Carapaz (Ecu/Ineos Grenadiers) +5mins 33secs

5. Ben O’Connor (Aus/AG2R Citroen) +5mins 58secs

6. Wilco Kelderman (Ned/Bora-Hansgrohe) +6mins 16secs

7. Alexey Lutsenko (Kaz/Astana) +6mins 30secs

8. Enric Mas (Spa/Movistar) +7mins 11secs

9. Guillaume Martin (Fra/Cofidis) +9mins 29secs

10. Pello Bilbao (Spa/Bahrain Victorious) +10mins 28secs

Source Link:

Recommended For You